DYL #3: Allies of Procrastination part 2

I am back with the second part of Develop Your Life #3. As you may not have read the first part yet which I highly recommend you to read because every information I share has value, we have been talking about the obstacles I came across while fighting against procrastination for an entire week. Now that you have an idea of the topic, let’s continue where we left off without further ado.

-Needs; every human has needs and we make a lot of sacrifices to satisfy ourselves. According to Tony Robbins, there are the famous six basic needs; certainty, variety, significance, connection, growth and contribution. But it’s not exactly what I want to discuss with you, I meant the fundamental human needs by Max-Neef; subsistence, protection, affection, understanding, participation, leisure, creation, identity, and freedom. I’ll write a more detailed post on Max-Neef’s research to let you know more about it. For the moment, I just want you to be aware of what they are so we can start recognising what corresponds to us. My problem is that I tend to seek freedom from work and use leisure as a way of doing so. Now that my issue has been identified, I have to ask myself what I can do to sort this out.

This is the solution that I came up with. Do not ignore your needs and do not try to suppress them unless you know that they are self-destructive, allocate some dedicated time for them so it feels like you are rewarding yourself for your work. Lack of satisfaction or rewards will leave you feeling deprived or frustrated and this will decrease your productivity. Treat your needs like employees and keep them in check, it is essential to know what they are and how each of them contributes to your life, your assessment of them needs to be scaled from positive to negative, and those that do not meet your requirements will have to be fired and replaced by better employees who are more productive and willing to work for you.

-The brain and its thoughts; by far the smartest opponent you’ll ever face (get it? brain, smartest?). The one that is with you at all times, omnipresent as it is a part of your body, one that you cannot live without (maybe you could but you certainly wouldn’t be here reading this, would you?). Depending on what sort of information you feed it with in the morning, your brain will either work for you as a powerful ally with an expanding bank of knowledge and creativity at your service or it can ruin your entire day by being an enemy worthy of being charged of constant verbal abuse with its minions known as your thoughts. Funny thing is your brain is perfectly neutral, whereas your thoughts are either positive or negative, they just do what you ask them to do. So you must now be asking “But Pierre-André, how am I supposed to them both on my side to prevent procrastination?

In order to answer this question, you must understand that the brain is quite reasonable and understands diplomacy, all you need to do is to communicate with it. Let me show you how I do it. I work out every morning. In my workout, I always try to reach a number that represents a challenge and when I make it, I make sure to celebrate and vocalise this sentence “I am the best“. There is nothing better than to start off the day feeling like a winner, like a successful person. After this, I write down in the present tense what I plan on achieving on this day and read it out loud. Being vocal is very important because it allows you to hear yourself, if you can hear yourself it means that your brain has processed the information. Once you and your brain are on the same wavelength, the thoughts will naturally follow because they are only the product of the brain, then I can guarantee you will power through the day with the success that you deserve at every task you take on. Executing and completing tasks to the best of your abilities will become a habit and a wise man once said “winners make a habit of doing the things that losers don’t want to do“, so do not let your mistakes be things that you didn’t do but ones that you did do.

Now let’s focus on you, dear reader. What about you? Have you ever tried not to procrastinate? How did it go and what obstacles did you come across? Leave a comment below to let me know, if you have enjoyed reading this post, leave a like, share to the people who are missing out on this and subscribe to my blog so you receive a notification of Develop Your Life which will be coming out every Monday of the week because there’s more where that came from !

Pierre-André.

Leave a Reply

